‘Baccano!’ Author Ryohgo Narita Pens New Manga


The official Twitter account of Squire Enix’s Young Gangan magazine has announced on Friday that author Ryohgo Narita (Baccano!Durarara!!) is writing a new manga series with illustrator Shinta Fujimoto. Titled Dead Mount Death Play, the manga will launch in the 21st issue of the magazine on October 20.

'Baccano!' Author Ryohgo Narita Pens New Manga
‘Baccano!’ Author Ryohgo Narita Pens New Manga

Fujimoto’s manga adaptation of Narita and illustrator Katsumi Enami’s Baccano!light novel series has been serialized in Young Gangan magazine since October 2015, which ran for 22 chapters and concluded on January 6. The third and final compiled volume of the manga was published on April 10. Yen Press published the chapters simultaneously in English with the Japanese release, and has also licensed the series for physical release.

The Baccano! light novel series began its publication in February 2003 under ASCII Media Works’ Dengeki Bunko imprint and currently has 22 volumes in print. Narita announced last August that he is working on the final “1935” volume of the series. The light novel has been published in English by Yen Press since May 2016, with the fourth volume released on April 18. A 13-episode anime adaptation by Brain’s Base aired in Summer 2007. Funimation licensed the anime for North American distribution and released the series in four DVD volumes between January and June in 2009, as well as a complete DVD collection boxset in December that year. Aniplex of America released a Blu-ray boxset in May 2011, and re-released it again in July 2012.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here