How to Watch Naruto in Order

Oh, Naruto. You are truly a staple in the shounen genre and introduced a whole generation of fans to anime. But damn if you ain’t long and complicated about it. With many episodes, many OVAs, many movies, and now a whole new generation to tangle with, Naruto is a complicated show to tackle. However, if you want to get into Naruto, and want to do it the right way, we have your back.


Bare Bones Watch Order For Naruto

The most basic watch order that you need to follow is:

Naruto > Naruto: Shippuden > Naruto: The Last > Boruto

You can even skip Naruto: The Last, but it just bridges the gap into Boruto. Yet, if you have watched the entire series, then you don’t necessarily need it.

Movies and OVAs

The good news about Naruto is that the movies and OVAs of the series are not immediately connected to the overall plot of Naruto. They are just fine bonuses. However, what you do want to keep in mind is that you want to watch a certain amount of episodes into the series before watching the movies or OVAs so you aren’t spoiled by events or new Jutsu developments. These episode minimums include:


Episode 12 – Find the Four-Leaf Crimson Clover

Episode 62 – Mission: Protect the Waterfall Village

Episode 97 – Ninja Clash in the Land of Snow

Episode 97 – Hidden Leaf Village Grand Sports Festival

Episode 145 – Legend of the Stone of Gelel

Episode 165 – Finally a Clash! Jonin VS Genin! Indiscriminatory Championships Battle Royal!

Episode 195 – Guardians of the Crescent Moon Kingdom

Naruto Shippuden

Episode 2 – Naruto Shippuden the Movie

Episode 45 – Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Bonds

Episode 120 – Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Inheritors of the Will of Fire

Episode 140 – Naruto: The Cross Roads

Episodes 171 – Naruto Shippuden the Movie: The Lost Tower

Episode 171 – Naruto, the Genie, and the Three Wishes, Believe It

Episode 192 – Naruto x UT

Episode 222 – Naruto the Movie: Blood Prison

Episode 222 – Chunin Exam on Fire! Naruto v. Konohamaru!

Episode 251 – Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations: Hashirama Senju VS Madara Uchiha

Episode 271 – Naruto the Movie: Road to Ninja

End of Series – Naruto the Last

End of Series – Boruto: Naruto the Movie

How to Skip the Filler in Naruto

If you are looking to skip the filler episodes for Naruto, here are the pure filler episodes that you can skip.


026, 097, 101-106, 137-140, 143-219

Naruto Shippuden:

057-070, 091-112, 144-151, 170-171, 176-196, 223-242, 257-260, 271, 279-281, 284-295, 303-320, 327, 349-361, 376-377, 388-390, 394-395


16-17, 33-34, 40-41, 48-50, 67-70, 96-97, 104-105, 113-119, 138-140, 152-155

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *