Makoto Shinkai, Sunao Katabuchi, and Mamoru Hosoda Invited to Join Oscars’ Academy

The list of membership invitations for The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences were announced on Monday. This year, a total of 928 invitations were sent which is the largest so far in the academy’s history. Its number of invitations last year were 774.

These invitations were of a series of new membership rules to promote diversity in the Academy’s ranks. Among the people who received the invitation was your name.’s well-acclaimed director Makoto Shinkai, In This Corner of the World director Sunao Katabuchi, and Summer Wars director Mamoru Hosoda. Composer Yoko Kanno (Cowboy Bepop), directors Sion Sono (Tokyo Vampire Hotel), Ru Kawahata, and Atsuko Hirayanagi were also given invitations.

Notable Japanese directors and those working in the Japanese animation and film industries were also given invitations in the previous years. Studio Ghibli’s Hayao Miyazaki was given an invitation four times including the studio’s producer and co-founder Toshio Suzuki in 2014. They also invited the late director Isao Takahata in 2015 but declined. Spirited Away music composer Joe Hisaishi was given an invitation in 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *