China Bans 38 Anime Series


The Chinese Ministry of Culture has pushed to “protect the healthy development of youth” by eliminating access to 38 anime series including

  • Attack on Titan
  • Death Note
  • Sword Art Online II
  • Psycho-Pass
  • Tokyo Ghoul √A
  • Parasyte
  • Devil May Cry (anime)
  • Another
  • Corpse Party
  • Date-A-Live 2
  • School Days
  • High School DXD
  • Black Butler
  • Tokyo ESP
  • Claymore
  • Ergo Proxy
  • The Skull Man
  • Afro Samurai
  • Inferno Cop
  • Tokyo Ravens
  • RIN – Daughters of Mnemosyne
  • Strike the Blood
  • Deadman Wonderland
  • The Testament of Sister New Devil
  • Devilman Lady
  • Elfen-Lied
  • Dance in the Vampire Bund
  • Those who hunt Elves
  • So, I Can’t Play H!
  • Kanokon
  • Girls Bravo season 2
  • Samurai Bride
  • Sakura Diaries
  • Aesthetica of a Rogue Hero
  • High School of the Dead
  • Terror in Resonance
  • Blood-C


China Bans 38 Anime Series
Fallout from the blacklist was immediately felt online with 29 websites receiving warnings or fines for carrying shows and another eight being shuttered according to the Xinhua News Agency.

The Chinese government’s attempts to purge “offensive” online content has gathered momentum from President Xi Jinping. Rumors of a blacklist of Japanese anime began earlier this year.

In a speech late last year, Xi called on Chinese media and the arts to reject “vulgarity” and promote “fine artworks in line with socialist core values.”

Attack on Titan notably gained a following in China with over 21 million devoted posts on Baidu as of Monday afternoon.

via Japan Times



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here